4 Practical And Easy Ways To Find Success In These Troubled Times

LaRae Quy
8 min readJul 14, 2022

I grew up around cowboys and horses in Wyoming; words like “country hick” and “hee-haw” were thrown out to remind me that I wasn’t as sophisticated or bright as my urban counterparts. I didn’t need their insults to point out that I was different because of my upbringing and circumstances.

I suspect that I’m not the only one who has felt the sting of prejudice and stereotype and been left wondering 1) if they were true and 2) how to move beyond them. But, I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I, too, wondered how to wade through those troubled waters and come out stronger on the other side.

It wasn’t until I was an adult that I began to appreciate how life on a remote cattle ranch had prepared me for success. I learned about nature, worked with my hands, spent long periods in harsh winter storms, and went to university against the odds. I understood the true meaning of “self-made.” I was unspoiled and un-entitled, which also meant that I saw myself as less precious than many of my peers.

This turned into a tremendous advantage as I navigated my way through a career as an FBI agent and, later, as a writer and artist. But here is the thing: we all have experiences that make us unique and different. Sure, some stories sound better than others, but the most practical and easiest way…

--

--

LaRae Quy

Former counterintelligence FBI agent | Mental Toughness Center | Consultant | Speaker | Author: Secrets of A Strong Mind, & Mental Toughness for Women Leaders